A good (cheap) camera/ tripod for a complete beginner?

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm a complete beginner to photography and I'm wondering what kind of camera is best for me to buy in terms of value being more important than quality...

I'm also looking at buying a tripod to go with it; what kind is best?
Thanks in advance :)

I'm a complete beginner to photography and I'm wondering what kind of camera is best for me to buy in terms of value being more important than quality...

I'm also looking at buying a tripod to go with it; what kind is best?
Thanks in advance :)

That's quite a broad question to be honest.
What do you wish to photograph, what's your budget?

If you could try and say what you'd like to photograph and what your budget is people might be able to give you better help.

Try to give a little more info...

"I like landscape photography and I have a budget of £500..." something like that might help :D

Ah! :D As above! :D

Or if you want to travel light around the globe or if you're taking pics of the kids in garden?

Point and shoot or full pro slr body with lenses a plenty

In summary, what I'm after is a decent point- and shoot, suitable for mainly building photography and perhaps people photography. I'm mostly interested in urban exploring, and that's what kind of camera I'm looking at. I've seen good quality photos taken on a cheap camera held together with sellotape, so I thought that I could have a budget of less than £200. Also, are most tripods suitable for most designs of camera?

Thanks again :)

In summary, what I'm after is a decent point- and shoot, suitable for mainly building photography and perhaps people photography. I'm mostly interested in urban exploring, and that's what kind of camera I'm looking at. I've seen good quality photos taken on a cheap camera held together with sellotape, so I thought that I could have a budget of less than £200. Also, are most tripods suitable for most designs of camera?

Thanks again :)