Beginner A little help for a first timer :)

Name
Jessica
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone.
Im a complete novice when it comes to cameras and photography, but I've been thinking for a while now, I'd like a decent quality camera, to take nice pictures, document memories, and start learning about photography as it's always something I've been interested in ( as a hobby).

After doing some research I've come across what seems to be 2 fairly good cameras, that are easy to use for beginners, but still take good quality pics.

These are
Nikon D3300 with 18-55 VR II lens
And Nikon D5200 with 18-55 VR lens.

There is a price difference of around £65 (D5200 being pricier) and so I'd like to ask everyone's opinion on which camera out of those two would be best for me to go for. Any pros and cons? (In simple language lol, I've not got a clue what some of the reviews talk about!) and are they good first cameras?

Thanks very much.

Go to a camera shop and handle both of these camera- I personally Shoot with Sony so I cannot give advice on any other brands-
the ones you mention are good for entry level photographers the D5200 being a more modern addition to the range above the D3300 and therefore: more expensive

You need to know if they suit you - so go try them both is my advice - welcome to the forum

Les ;)

Last edited by a moderator:
There is a good summary here:-

http://www.imaging-resource.com/cameras/nikon/d5200/vs/nikon/d3300/

In practice I doubt if anyone could be sure of telling the results apart. Both cameras are excellent performers.
Since you are new to this then you will encounter the same problem with these cameras (and many, many others). The instruction manual will overwhelm you so cast around for a simplifier and ask all you like on here.

Thank you both.
I guess that's good advice Les and something I didn't even think about! Thank you!