A Nikon for my daughter

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

A while back I got my daughter a Canon 450D so she could try it out - if was a semi success, but she was a bit too young, now at the lofty heights of eight she's showing more interest, the problem is I've moved to Nikon! (sorry!)
As I'm pretty new to Nikon could you suggest a model that would be a good starting point, something in the crops I think as she's looking to get closer.

Cheers

Good point - I guess as I could probably get £80-100 for the 450D + 18-55 I'd guess somewhere round £200 - she could use the Sigma 70-300 as its cheapish.

That could be a good one, thanks David.

Cheers guys - I'll have a squiz around - the 24m could come in handy if she's trying to crop heavily too - flickr calls for a good browse, after my bed :D

Well if alls gone well I've just snagged a D5300 for her (luck sod - I wish I'd had a parents like me!), but then it suddenly dawned on me about autofocus motors - is there a simple rule (that doesn't require holding the lens) to make sure I don't get lenses she can't use?

Perfect - I like it when its easy(ish) and AFS is :)

Thanks guys, I imagine they're relatively cheap too.

But she can use ANY Nikon F series lens....Manual focusing is all part of the learning curve and essential for macro. :)

They are, lack of in body motor is a moot point nowadays really as Nikon have released loads of good cheap AFS lenses.

It used to be that the choices for a fast prime was the cheap AFD 50mm or the expensive AFS 1.4 variant and that upset people a bit but with the excellent AFS 35mm and 50mm f/1.8 primes it's not a problem any more.

Sure you may miss out on some exotics but frankly I doubt that matters for 99% of people.

I bought a 400d for my 8 year old and the only problem is the weight of it with a reasonable length lens on it. Personally I'd get the lightest lens I could, she is only young after all. Perhaps a 50mm 1.8 if Nikon do a cheap one like canon do.