London A noob with aspirations in wide angle photography

Name
Ross
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all.

I'm fairly new to photography but have played around for a while on my girlfriends cameras. I own a Nikon D90 and really want to get into wide angle photos (I just love the odd perspectives and stuff).

My question is this: is a 28mm prime lens OK to start on? I mean I'd love a 12-24 but the budget won't allow me a £300++ lens.

Thanks

Ross

Last edited:
Hello Ross :welcome:

Can't help with the lens query :canon: someone will be along shortly :)

The Sigma 10-20mm lens is a fine choice for wide angled work.

Hello and a very warm welcome to you.

Useful Sections for New Members (click links)

> The Help section contains some good general information about how we do things around here and how the forum works.
> FAQs and Guides can be found here.
> Forum Help and Support is there for you to ask questions and get one to one support if you're having problems finding your way around or working out how to do things.
> Link up with other photographers in your area for local events and days out in Meeting Place.
> Or maybe you fancy a challenge . . . Take a look at some of the organised TP challenges and competitions here.

Hi Ross, And welcome aboard TP."Enjoy".

Hi Ross I met a photo blogger in London recently he was using an em1 with a fisheye can't get wider than that. I will try and find his blog and post a link for you.

Last edited:
Hi Ross I met a photo blogger in London recently he was using an em1 with a fisher can't get wider than that. I will try and find his blog and post a link for you.

Thanks. Appreciate it. Have been looking at the 10-20 sigma lens. Also a 20mm prime nikkor lens. And a few other. It a bit baffling how many there are and what is a good investment. Especially as I don't have any of my own lenses yet. The cameras not getting much use.

Thanks

Hi Ross and a warm welcome to TP.
Hope you enjoy yourself here :)