A question about light meter vs exposure meter.

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
I've just bought a MF camera, and I now need a way to meter for the correct exposure.

A friend of mine said (and what I thought was the only option was) to get a "light meter" or flash meter.

However being a student my budget doesn't really afford me one, and I've observed that on ebay there are "exposure meters" for a more reasonable price.

I don't ever really see my self using flash, so would these exposure meter do?

:help:

I'm not aware of any difference between a 'light meter' and an 'exposure meter' beyond the minor change in terminology.*

As to why they should be listed with different prices on eBay I have no clue.

A flash meter, however, is designed to allow you to separately measure the level of light provided by flash lights. Useful if that's what you're doing, but not essential by any stretch of the imagination if you're not.

* actually, I suppose there could be one, as an Exposure Meter would be calibrated to read in EV (f-stops and aperture) while some light meters may measure in Lux for non-photographic, interior design, health & safety, etc. use (checking illumination levels at desks, etc). You'd be after one for photographic use, which are probably more common and cheaper.

Last edited:
Hi James,

My advice is to get a good working WESTON MASTER V or WESTON EURO MASTER off eBay. They are great meters and still do the job well.

You will need to measure the light in relation to the ASA/ISO speed of your film, so as to expose the shots correctly.

Best of luck

Alistair

I'm not aware of any difference between a 'light meter' and an 'exposure meter' beyond the minor change in terminology.*

As to why they should be listed with different prices on eBay I have no clue.