Absolute Beginner

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys,
I've just joined up and I'm looking for some advice.
I currently use a Sony 7.1 MP point and squirt compact camera, it does a decent job but I'm now wanting to move on to a DSLR.
My budget is £400 and I will be buying new.
I've been looking at the Nikon D60 and I've also read that the Sony alpha 200 is a good bit of kit for the money.
I am a total novice so something that is easy to learn with is quite important!
Any input gratefully recieved :)
Jim

Nikon D40's are excellent. It has everything you need for a beginner. Yes it is only 6.1mp but that is capeable of A4 prints, but the ISO quality is brilliant, the picture quality is brilliant and they just feel great in your hands. You can pick up a D40 body for £200 and with the remainder you could buy yourself a nice lens. Argos do the D40 with an 18-55mm Nikkor lens for £250, but you may want a better zoom than 18-55mm so the other option is to buy the 18-135mm Nikkor lens instead, which is about £225 (I am selling mine for about £160 at the moment, only 6 months old).

There is only one feature I miss on the D40 and that is 3 shot exposure bracketing for merging HDR shots. You can do it manually but it is less acurate and takes longer. Being a beginner I doubt you will even use exposure bracketing and I am sure most people here will tell you they never use it because HDR pictures are like marmite ~ you either love them or hate them.

Welcome to TP!! :wave:

Firstly, this question has been asked soooo many times!!

Secondly, buy the Sony!! It's the better DSLR for beginners IMO, no matter which lens you use on it, you will have auto focus (AF) and image stabilisation (IS) as both these features are built into the body of the Sony, whereas, with the Nikon, these features are only avaliable in certain lenses.

Some people will disagree (obviously!) but IS and AF are important features for a beginner (like me).