Actual Macro Lens or Filter style add on Lens...

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
As I am just getting into photography I am looking for a bit of advice on this subject. I really want to give macro photos a shot (excuse the pun) but dont want to spend a lot of money on another lens, I have seen these filter style add on "Macro lens" to attach to my existing lens but am unsure if they will be any good?

What is the general opinion on these? Any Pros or Cons to either?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MACRO-Close-U...0|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1308|301:1|293:1|294:50

Hello,

As a starter they are not bad actually for the cost! I started off my macro journey with a +4 on the 18-55 kit lens with pretty good results. You'll get frustrated though and want to get closer and closer :D

Cheers,

Neil.

As I am just getting into photography I am looking for a bit of advice on this subject. I really want to give macro photos a shot (excuse the pun) but dont want to spend a lot of money on another lens, I have seen these filter style add on "Macro lens" to attach to my existing lens but am unsure if they will be any good?

What is the general opinion on these? Any Pros or Cons to either?

Thought about extension tubes?

Yes, and more expensive. I've never tried them on the kit lens though, only got mine once I bought the 100mmf2.8.

I bought a set of these off ebay, used them once, didn't like them and bought extension tubes instead, didn't like them too much. so then bought a mcro lens!!

Welcome to the expensive journey of macro!!!!

I bought a set of these off ebay, used them once, didn't like them and bought extension tubes instead, didn't like them too much. so then bought a mcro lens!!

Welcome to the expensive journey of macro!!!!

• I bought them as my first step into macro, quality is ok for the price. Wanted to get closer.
  • Bought a reversing ring, nightmare to use. Wanted to get closer.
  • Bought a 100mm f2.8 lens, excellent, love it. Still wanted to get closer.