Advice for 1st DSLR. What would you pick out of these 3

Name
Brett
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys/ladies

My first post and just looking to gleam some of the wealth of knowledge that floats around the forum.

I have decided to take the plunge from point and shoot into the world of DSLR. After hours of reading reviews online and several visits to PC World and Jessops i have narrowed down to 3 cameras which i cannot choose between. Any comments or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

1st Canon EOS 450d with 18-55mm IS kit lens £449 from Comet

2nd Nikon D60 with 18-55mm VR lens kit £379 from PC World

3rd Nikon D3000 with 18-55mm VR lens kit £448 from Jacobs (with goodies inc a bag)

I have not seen many reviews of the D300 so not to sure what everyone thinks of them. But from what i can see i like the idea of the "idiots guide" approach of the software, as i am just starting out i could see this being really usefull.

I have handled the 1st two and both felt good, as for the D3000 apparently is is almost the same as the D5000 size wise and i found it fine also.

I intend on keeping the camera for a few years and use it for all kind of general photography, i do like taking pictures of buildings and scenery though.

Reading several other posts alot of people recomend the D40 but even 2nd hand the prices they seem to get are serious, so i thought i would just stick it out for a new one.

Really is there much of a difference for a beginner between the canon or either of the nikons.

Thanks for any help

Brett

Have you got any existing Nikon or Canon lenses? If so, that really ought to influence your decision.

If not, then all of them will produce very acceptable results. It really comes down to trying them and seeing which you prefer.

Trouble is, that's not easy to do, especially with the likes of Comet/PC World just being box-shifters.

Hop on over to www.kenrockwell.com - he gets mixed reviews on here but he talks a lot of sense too.