Beginner Advice for a newb to portraits/lighting

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
I’ve always wanted to have a go with portrait photography (usually shooting landscapes) but haven’t had the confidence to ask anyone to sit for me because I’ve never done it before and don’t want to produce something rubbish - but I can’t practice to gain skill/confidence because that would require asking someone to sit (catch 22). So I thought I’d give self-portraiture a go to try and get some decent results and work out what the heck I’m doing. So.

I’ve got a room with a window producing some nice side-lighting and an on-camera flash (no slave mode so can’t use it off-camera). I wondered what would be a good setup to try. I thought I would have the natural light coming in from the side plus the on-camera flash bounced off the ceiling... I quite like the look of straight-on flash producing highlights on the forehead and nose with under the cheek bones in shadow (butterfly lighting??).

Any advice welcome!!

Almost the same subject came up last week on our zoom meeting https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/interwebby-webinar-session-thingy.710396/
My advice was to practice on still life subjects, pretty well anything that's around the house will do.

There are several advantages to this.
1. The subject keeps still, doesn't get bored and doesn't complain if the results are poor, which they will be for some time. Experimentation is key to learning and it's difficult to experiment with a live subject, who has an expectation of getting decent photos out of the session.
2.. Because a bowl of fruit or similar doesn't move, any difference between different shots is entirely down to the lighting - even slight movements produce very different results.

And getting decent self portraits is a difficult and frustrating business.