Advice for a newbie

Name
Philip
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I’m new to the hobbie, but I think I know the theory of sensors, aperture, focal length, resolution, MTF, noise, etc from related work.

I’ve owned Olympus XA2 and 4 film rangefinder cameras since the 80’s. These were bought for their technical spec, build quality, pocketability, and design chic. However, they had been ignored in a draw for at least a decade, and have recently been sold as film is not where I want to be.

i bought a Ricoh Caplio R1 in 2004 as a first digital camera to take the place of the Olympus xa4.

IN 2010 I bought a Pentax K-x as my first dSLR, and first interchangeable lens camera. I have collected a number of vintage k-fit lenses over the years. it’s a charity shop dream! I have a later k-r body which is very similar, but cmos sensor rather than ccd.

I also have GoPro action cameras. The hero 9 and the 360. I use these to film my motorbike trips and competitive dinghy sailing.

ONTO TODAYS ISSUE.

I want new kit to start serious photography and video. these are my requirements:

1. street photography - looking at Vivien Meyer style stuff. She shot with medium format, but equivalent to 40mm (full frame), 28mm (aps-c), or 20mm (MFT) primes and fast glass.

2. workshop and selfie youtube - looking at some face to camera stuff, and filming mechanic/restoration/bimbleing.

3. Dinghy sailing photo/video - filming other competitors while in shore or from a rib. This will require a long lens (From the shore), and good image stabilisation (from a rib). Probably a long zoom 150-600mm (full frame), 100-450mm (aps-c), 100-300mm (MFT)

lens quality and fast glass are key I think. You can always stop down, but I like bokeh/subject separation.

autofocus is also important.

need 4k video, and don’t want any rolling shutter artefacts or similar (not really sure of the difference between 30fps and 24fps cinema mode, but I understand Panasonic is good here)