Beginner Advice for shooting birds.

Edit My Images
Yes
Good afternoon all,

Just looking for a basic starting point, if anyone has time.

I'm new to the world of "proper" photography, have had a point an shoot for while but now got myself a Canon D750 with 18-55 and 55-250 lens set up.

Typically I am shooting motorsport and mountain biking and starting to get the hang of it (shutter speeds/manually focusing etc). However I get a fair amount of birds in the back garden usually sparrows, robins, blackbirds, tits and thought it may be a good chance to practice/learn more skills.

So what makes a good photo of a bird?
What sort of things should I be aiming for?
What should I be avoiding?
Any starting points for settings...

If it makes a difference I will be shooting them about a distance of around 30feet and either out or through the window, usually they sit on the bird boxes/feeders or hop along the floor.

Regards Tom.

I don't photograph wildlife very much but here are a few thoughts - I'm sure others who know far more than me will be along soon.

The garden is a good place to start because of the relative predictability of the birds.

Learn about the subject. For example the finches tend to sit and feed whereas the tit family tend to be more 'grab and go'

For practice, shots of bird on feeders are OK, but feeders can be very distracting. Its fairly easy to rig up a dead branch and drill holes out of sight of the camera and fill the holes with fat cake or peanuts. Nailing a small container out of sight can also work.

Natural items can also be distracting, eg, a twig that crosses the image or an intrusive background. Such distractions can be a bit more difficult to deal with. Using a shallow depth of field might help or taking the shot from another angle. However, the depth of field on a telephoto lens is pretty small anyway and trying to reduce it further could mean you miss the focus.

For birds on the ground a low viewpoint gives a more interesting image