Advice Needed - New Kit

• Thread starter gingerweasel
  • Start date
G

gingerweasel

Hi Guys,
I've been visiting talkphotography for a month or two now and finally decided to register. I'm fairly new to photography but I really enjoy the time I spend on it.

I'm looking to get my first DSLR camera (and lens) in the next few months and would like to get some expert advice.

I've been around the local camera shops and tested a range of Cannon and Nikon bodies. From a pure comfort point of view I prefer the Nikons.

I have two possible budgets (not decided how much to spend yet). The first would be around £1200, but I can spend upto £2000 without breaking the bank. I would like to pick something that I won't outgrow quickly or need to replace in the next year or two.

I enjoy landscape, macro, and artistic photography but would like to test my hand in every possible area to see what I can do with each.

I held the Nikon D300 and D700 today which felt good to use but my budget won't go far with these :)

Welcome to the forum :)

Can't help re the Nikons I'm afraid, however a couple of things you might want to include in your budget:

1. Extra memory card(s)
2. Extra battteries
3. Tripod
4. A good book
5. A decent bag to carry you kit around

Re Macro lenses, against not sur re Nikon, but 3rd party the Tamron 90mm and Sigma 105 both seem to be well regarded.

You might want to state if the budget you mention is for the camera only or for everything.

Good luck

Al

£2000 would have to cover everything I need for now.

Wait let me check my lottery ticket ... no .... £2000 will have to do :LOL:

D90 + Nikon 105 vr macro + Nikon 12-24 = circa £1900 that should get you up and running :D

well you want:
a body
a standard zoom
a tele zoom
a fast prime
a macro lens
a flashgun
a tripod
filters
triggers
spare batteries
cards
a bag
a card reader

that covers every aspect of photography to some degree, which elements you want and which you will depend on you really