Advice needed - possible paid shoot

Edit My Images
No
I've just had the following email:

Hi,

I am a producer from Bradford, West Yorkshire.

I am releasing a new single at the back end of April. This single will be my best & most advanced to date so i will be looking to have some promo photo's taken for the press sheet and promotion campagin.

I would like to inquire about your servies. I really like your work and would like to know what sort of fees you charge.

If you could get back to me with all the required info, that would be much appreciated.

This is the first time anyone's got in touch with me about this sort of thing and I'm not really sure how to respond so any advice you chaps (particularly the pros, but everyone really) can give me would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
J

I can offer you no advice at all except for thing.......in your shoes I would try to check out the validity of the client. By the way, if it's because of your street shots, I'm not surprised. :thumb:

regards

The first thing you need to do Jamie, is find out a lot more about this guy. Is he representing a local band/artist. The bit about his next single being the most advanced to date, sounds like he might not be a really big player, although that might be misleading. You should e-mail him back asking for more info on the artist/group - anticipated sales etc., before you think about quoting him.

Producing music singles at any level is expensive and no-one works for nothing - hiring studios alone is horrendous money. This could be a really good job for you and good experience, but you need a lot more info before you start quoting prices. :)

and just to add to the great info above, DONT give your bank details out either.
all the best, and hope its bona fide..

Read PeteMc's started threads....lots of advice was given on prices etc.....& good luck :)

Most important, don't undersell yourself. If he's on the up and up he'll pay the going rate.