Advice on buying 1st DSLR

Edit My Images
Yes
I have decided to buy my first DSLR having only used compact digital cameras in the past. As a keen pre-purchase researcher I read magazines, reviews, join photography forums etc etc. The result is that I am now armed with a little knowledge which from all accounts can be dangerous. So to confuse myself even further I have decided to throw open the question to the forum and see what comes back. (brain damage probably!)

To assist you with deciding on any recommendations, I have a very basic knowledge of photography but am a quick learner (mechanics rather than creativity). I would probably use the camera for family photographs, kid sports, birds (feathered kind), landscapes and anything else that takes my interest. In terms of a budget I had £1000 in mind for a camera and at least 1 decent lens. I have read a number of reports that are critical of kit lenses. Not sure if that's fair or not.

The initial thoughts are the Nikon D90 with the kit lens or perhaps with a 17-55mm f2.8 zoom lens (bit more than the budget I know) or should I stretch to a D300? Great reviews but would this be a waste on a relative beginner? Also considered a Canon EOS40D and a Pentax K20D.

My thoughts are that I would rather buy something that would not need upgrading in the foreseeable future than buy at the entry level and then have to trade-in. Or have I got this completely wrong?

My apologies for the long post but if you've got this far I would be grateful for any advice and once I've made my decision I'll let you all know where the money went.

Thanks

I would suggest buying a second hand Nikon D80, the D90 isn't that much of an upgrade and will cost much more, a D40 would be cheaper, but is rather small and can only use AF-s and AF-I lenses in autofocus mode (Standard AF is out).