Beginner Advice on photography at night.

Name
Darren
Edit My Images
No
Hi
I am looking for advice in capturing images of buildings at night , I am new to photography and am using a Nikon D90 and a sigma 17-70 lens.
I am interested in what is the best setting to take buildings that are part lit by street light and lots of shadows.
I have tried and have achieved mixed results.
I have a uv filter on for sun light but what is used at night.
Any advice or links would be great . off to You tube for a look now ..
thanks in advance

tripod and long exposure also shutter release
use full manual and experiment with settings

A sturdy tripod and a long exposure are best as holty said. Remember to set the white balance for the scene. I would set your ISO to something reasonably high such as 1600.

If you're not doing shoot in RAW or RAW & JPEG so that you can edit them easily afterwards. I use UFRaw to edit RAW images and convert them which is free and relativity easy to figure out but if you have some other software that you can use then use that.

This sheet should be quite useful to you :D

exposure-cheat-sheet.jpg

as mentioned above, a sturdy tripod and shutter release will help immensely

Have a go at metering exposure for the brightest lights in the frame, if you use aperture priority then your shutter speed will be selected from this information, also try to have a low iso if you can

A sturdy tripod and a long exposure are best as holty said. Remember to set the white balance for the scene. I would set your ISO to something reasonably high such as 1600.

If you are using a tripod there is no need to have the ISO set to anything other than its lowest setting unless you need a fast enough shutter speed to freeze, or at least, have less blur, on something that is moving. The higher the ISO, the more chance of 'noise' appearing.