[ADVICE PLEASE] Nikon D5100 vs Nikon D5200

Name
Jay
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys

Ok im looking to get a new DSLR which has a rotating LCD Screen.
I have chosen Nikon for personal choice plus I already have a IR Modified Nikon D50 with lenses which i can use with my new Nikon.

One thing that stood out to me when I studied photography at college was the information regarding Mega Pixels and Sensor Sizes.
From my course it was clearly stated that the size of the sensor is very important in relation to megapixels.

Example: a DSLR has a larger sensor then that of a compact camera, lets say both are 12 Mega Pixels - It is believed that the larger sensor would produce much better
quality images then that of the compact camera. This is due to the larger workspace of the larger sensor. Smaller sensors are often pushed to squeeze all these pixels in such a small area which can cause color issues as well as noise, bleeding etc.

This in mind, here lies my dilemma..

For me the first thing thats top of my list when choosing a camera has to be the quality of the images - not the size - but the quality and crispness etc.
Now i know lenses play a very important part in this but i don't want to end up polishing a turd, so to speak lol
I do not plan to produce an image the size of time square or the great wall of chine!
Quality over size for me is the issue :0)

The consumer is clearly obsessed with higher Mega Pixels, as if more means better quality without image size being more the issue.

The Nikon D5100 has 16.2 Mega Pixels - The sensor size is 23.6 x 15.6
The Nikon D5200 has 24.1 Mega Pixels - The sensor size is 23.5 x 15.6

Now as you can see the D5100 has a slightly larger sensor to handle the 16.2 Mega Pixels
Yet the D5200 with 24.1 Mega Pixels, has only a 23.5 x 15.6

To me this sounds crazy, why did they not fit a larger sensor to make up for the extra 8MP??
So in theory that's an extra 8MP that will be squeezed onto a sensor smaller then that of the D5100!