Beginner Advice re. archiving a herbovarium

Edit My Images
Yes
In the 50's when my mother were in her teens she collected a herbarium, and I'm now thinking about archiving / documenting it.

I'm thinking I'll place each sheet on a matte white background board, then rig a light tent over it. Either use two speedlights, or continuous LED light (ie something like the Godox LSD80). Then rig the camera to shoot down, making sure it is perfectly aligned with the background. My theory is that if I get the setup static and consistent, post-processing will be easy.

I'm hoping the fact that the sheets aren't perfectly flat will add to the images and not be distracting, but that would depend on the lighting I guess.

What do you think about the process and lighting? Any advice on equipment, like light tents or camera tripod / stand? I'm a happy amateur and have never done anything like this, so any advice would be appreciated.

I think that there are a couple of potential setup choices.
If you want pure record shots (the sort of thing that a museum would do) then yes, getting the camera perfectly square to the subject and against a simple plain background is the way to go. But you could also photograph them against a more interesting background, and at a bit of an angle, to create more interesting shots. If you go for the clinical record shot approach you may struggle to get the camera perfectly square from above, but the simple workaround to this is to temporarily fix the subject to a wall, using blu-tack.

In terms of lighting, you really need to show the texture, so you need a single light, low enough to emphasise the texture and the relief, but not low enough to create shadows that are too strong.