Beginner Advice requested for table top photography on a budget

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Whilst not a total newb to photography per se, I have no experience with close up/macro/tabletop work and would like to try what looks to be a fascinating subject, probably starting with bubble photography and oil in water shots. I plan to use my D800 with an elderly Nikkor 55mm f3.5 micro lens, and extension tubes. I also have a Sony A6000 with a Sigma 30mm f2.8 and might get a reversing ring to try that out, too. I accept that composition/exposure is largely a matter of trial and error and can cope with that but I would welcome some guidance with the lighting. I have a Nikon SB600 flash (rarely used, in truth) but that is on-camera; I would really need to get it off camera I feel. I also have a couple of elderly but good condition Vivitar 283 and Soligor 486 flashes which can't be used on camera due to voltage issues.

I am wondering whether it is worth investing in a modest flash trigger system to fire my flashes, or simply forget flash altogether and get a couple of mains powered LED lights. Many thanks in advance for any guidance - all help genuinely appreciated!

Rob

Interesting, but a challenging subject.
You can do a lot with a single light, used with a reflector - which for macro or thereabouts might be a piece of white paper, a piece of broken mirror, or something else - but it must always be off camera, so yes, you'll need a trigger if you use flash.

LED lights are an option and have the advantage that WYSIWYG and (especially) with very small subjects, it can be easier to see the difference that very small changes to position can make. Studio flash would give you the same advantage, because the modelling lamp would show you exactly what the light is doing too, but with very small subjects the normal disadvantages of of using flashguns are less important, so this is probably your best option - but with no modelling lamps you'll need to take a lot of test shots.