Africa Photography

Name
Nic
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey!

I am heading to Africa to the mountains and then to Safari! I am not very good with photography but want to start trying, so will need a a camera for the wildlife and also capture a full moon and normal shots on mountains.

I have heard bridge cameras are a good idea to start with, as my budget is really around £500ish

Some people have mentioned the FZ2000, FZ82 and FZ330. I know there are lots out there but anyone got recommendations? I don't need a huge zoom but dont want to lose out on quality on normal shots as well?

Thanks
Nic

Hi and welcome to TP

Firstly what a wonderful trip you have planned !

I am so out of touch with bridge cameras to hopefully other TP members more in the know will chime in for you.

What I would say is make sure to take enough memory cards and batteries. In regard to the batteries, make sure to recharge them wherever you get the opportunity and indeed enquire of the lodges and camp sites whether they have suitable mains(?) power for charging devices. Oh! Don't forget mains adaptor(s) as appropriate.

Above all else, enjoy the experience:)

Welcome to TP Nic. That should be a fascinating trip.

I know of the FZ2000 etc by reputation, and it's reported to be good.

I've just returned from Tanzania on safari (post coming soon!).

The biggest thing for me was actually the LACK of zoom you need at times! Your experience may differ, but my wife was actually getting some great snaps with just an iPhone. I was using a full frame camera and found the 70-200 to be pretty much perfect.

A bridge camera would be a great idea. Make sure you ask your guide to shut the engine off whenever possible as the vibrations will soften your shots. If possible, ask them if they have a bean bag you can borrow. It makes a real difference for resting the camera on when taking shots with plenty of zoom.

Have an amazing time! Safari's are simply magical.

Hey!