Alternatives to Photoshop Elements

Name
Billy
Edit My Images
Yes
I am looking for recommendations for alternatives to Photoshop Elements to organise and edit images.

I am a relative beginner, having upgraded my camera recently and spending more time on photography as a hobby. However, I have been taking photos casually for a long time though and have a library of about 25,000 images which I have built up over decades because I haven't put enough effort in to culling duff images as I loaded them. I could probably get rid of half of them without losing anything of value, and have started working through them to sort out the wheat from the chaff. (I am now using BreezeBrowser to cull photos before I import them, so I will keep the size of the library under control, in future.)

Currently, I manage the images in Photoshop Elements 2020 on Windows which probably has all the features that I need, though it is likely that I have adapted my workflow to PSE so it may be that there are better things out there.

What has prompted me to look at alternatives is a series of time-consuming and anxiety-provoking problems with the Organiser function in PSE. (These have become increasingly more difficult to deal with and, right now, it completely fails to open and I am going to have to restore from backup. I am not looking for advice on fixing them here, I am just explaining why I am looking at alternatives.)