Am I allowed to photograph my vote?

gazedd

Ding Dong
Name
Gary Eddleston
Edit My Images
Yes
As the title really...

I am currently in the middle of a 365 and as a first time voter i would like to photograph this event of my life (year)...

So I can obviously photograph the mobile building they have placed outside my house, but can I photograph my actually inside the mobile building?
(obviously asking permission from when i go in and no other people in there)

I just don't want to stroll in and expect to do something then get in to some rather crappy situation.

Wow, that answers my exact question! Thanks

For info for anyone else: (taken from BBC site link above)

IT'S MY FIRST TIME VOTING. CAN I TAKE A PHOTO?

No. British democracy works on the basis of a secret ballot. For that reason the media are banned from filming, taking photographs or reporting from inside the polling station. The same applies to individuals. Don't be tempted to take a picture - you'll be asked to delete it and told not to do it again.

Could always just ask them to take a shot of you putting your vote in the ballot box. Though you'd want to be sure they focused properly, and maybe a flash would ensure a blur-free image if they don't hold the camera very still.

You see plenty of images of politicians and the like voting, so it should be fine.

Wow, that answers my exact question! Thanks

For info for anyone else: (taken from BBC site link above)

IT'S MY FIRST TIME VOTING. CAN I TAKE A PHOTO?

No. British democracy works on the basis of a secret ballot. For that reason the media are banned from filming, taking photographs or reporting from inside the polling station. The same applies to individuals. Don't be tempted to take a picture - you'll be asked to delete it and told not to do it again.

That saved me going back in to copy and paste.

It might be worth asking though.

Although in the BBC articale above, this image is displayed:
_47781100_voting_226getty.jpg