Anglesey reds

Name
Howard
Edit My Images
Yes
Inspired by the thread on Brownsea reds I searched my old images and found these , taken at Newborough Forest on the Isle of Anglesey some years ago.

red_1_a.jpg

up_high_a.jpg

Howard

Nice subjects but I feel the second image looks odd, Halos round all the branches, I am guessing you have recovered a lot of details from the shadows.

The 1st is a much more natural looking exposure.

Thanks, both, for looking and commenting. The second is a crop and as you say the shadows have been tweaked too much.

Howard

Howard I agree with the comments above , but lovely to see. You might be able to help me,I have little to knowledge of our reds,but have a breif couple of Q's. Do the squirrels on the different isles around blighty show any differences. and do they in anyway differ from the mainland reds ie could one tell a Brownsea red from say one from Anglesea,etc. Howard I hope you don't mind me asking on your thread,

many thanks

stu

Hi Stu,

I'm very sorry but I can't really answer your question, however I would hazard a guess that there could be differences between the locations. There are several websites concerned with red squirrels - this is one http://rsst.org.uk/

I haven't been to Newborough for several months, next time we're on Anglesey I'll try and call and see if I can get better images.

Good luck with your search for info, sorry I could not be more help.

Howard

It might be a good idea to read up on any re-introduction projects.

Those involved would be careful to bring in animals that are as close as possible genetically to the population that has been lost.