(Another) Hello

L

lightstarx

Hi,

I have just joined the forums and thought I'd say hello. I'm pretty new to photography but thought I'd throw myself in at the deep end. My kit is as follows: Canon 400D, Canon EF-S 18-55, Tamron 55-200 and a 2Gb memory card. I have been reading some bits and pieces and taken the following photos:
IMG_0529.jpg

20070619_0148-1.jpg

20070619_0116-1.jpg

I'm looking for some tips and critique on these images.
Thanks,
James

Howdy :) welcome to the forums. That first shot looks familar, cant think why. Really like the guitar shot too :) nice depth of field and gives a good perspective :) nice stuff.

One thing, pictures posted on here need to be no bigger than 800pixels on the longest side :)

Keep up the good work!

Hi James, and welcome to the forums :)

I love the last one, the narrow DOF works great with it.

However, could you resize your last 2 images, as per the rules please. Maximum 800 pixels along the longest edge for inline images in posts. Or you can just change them to clickable links.

Thanks,.

Hi James ... :wave:

The bee shot is out of focus.

The guitar shot has one big blown highlight (The white patch)

Nice to see someone post photos in the first post though ... :clap:

Best tip I could give you is to look at information on the "Rule of thirds"

:canon:

Sorry about that, images have been resized.
The first shot is of a church in Bovingdon, Herts.
I was a bit unsure about the bee picture myself, are the tips of the wings in focus or not, I was really struggling to tell?
I did quite like the shape of the highlight on the guitar though.

Hi and welcome :wave:

Hello :)

You'll get more feedback on pictures in the sharing sections ;)

HUllo

Hi

Hi & welcome to the forums (y)