Another Woody shot

Name
Karen
Edit My Images
No
another shot of the woodpecker from a few weeks ago quite a crop on this one though

woody_5.JPG

Well im no expert but it looks good to me....(y)

didn t think it was that bad guys:( would rather know whats wrong with it than no comment at all:shrug:

I would be very pleased with that. If I was being picky, I find the perch (which occupies more than 1/2 the interest in the image) too domineering. Having said that, it is better than any woody image I have achieved - so what do I know!

Looks good to me,
Please bear in mind that posts can get missed and its not always possible to have many folks on and they may well be just searching a spacific intrest.
Please dont take it as anything discouraging about your work, sometimes things get missed.
Miles better than any pic ive managed,
Great stuff

didn t think it was that bad guys:( would rather know whats wrong with it than no comment at all:shrug:

Karen, the speed posts appear on here somedays means that posts disappear down the list on the front page, I have had it happen to me.

With regard to this image there is an awful lot of contrast between the background and subject, this is due to a strong direct light source picking out the subject, but not the background, which gives this stark result.

Now it is not a bad photograph, and an accurate record of what you saw, but the lighting is not doing the image justice.

I have encountered this before, whilst we love good light there are times when it has been too good, and importantly too direct, which is what caused me issues with the Tawny chicks image I posted recently.

The way I look at it is if you could, and were setting this up in a studio you would not light it this way, a white bounce to the right would have improved the lighting no end, with wildlife it just is not possible.