Any MS Access whizzes out there? - Solution found, thanks

Marc

TPer Emeritus
Edit My Images
Yes
I am trying to do something in MS Access and have hit a brick wall. I have created a form into which users can enter data with which to bring back results from other tables. The input data is placed in a table, then a query is run which uses the input data as a parameter for certain fields. So far so good.

The problems occur when the user leaves a field on the form blank. If I place a "*" in the criteria field of a query then all data is returned. If I point to another table/field which has data then all matching data is returned. Does anybody know how I can get the query to return data where the lookup field is blank? I have tried an IF statement but have failed miserably.

I should point out that I have no vba or SQL knowledge and only use the basic query functions so please go easy on me where code is concerned. It's MS Access 2003 if that makes a difference.

Would be most greatful for any assistance. (y)

What exactly is the lookup field Marc?

It it name etc (string) or an int etc?

Also what data do you want the query to return?

edit: - what happens if you put "" in the criteria

it's been a while since I have worked with vba

I am trying to do something in MS Access and have hit a brick wall. I have created a form into which users can enter data with which to bring back results from other tables. The input data is placed in a table, then a query is run which uses the input data as a parameter for certain fields. So far so good.

The problems occur when the user leaves a field on the form blank. If I place a "*" in the criteria field of a query then all data is returned. If I point to another table/field which has data then all matching data is returned. Does anybody know how I can get the query to return data where the lookup field is blank? I have tried an IF statement but have failed miserably.