Anyone shooting weddings w/primes only?

Name
Ben
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi

I'm a freelance wedding videographer with a keen interest in photography too. I want to take the leap from working freelance, to getting my own clients - just with video I don't have the time to edit the footage (as much as I love to) which is why I want to get more into photography. Almost all of the weddings I've filmed have had photographers use the odd prime here and there, but almost all of the times they will mainly be using a 24-70 + 700-200.

Personally for me, using primes for the majority of video work isn't very feasible due to the fact that I'm using a tripod/monopod/slider and it's much harder to move around to get the right composition compared to a photographer simply just taking a few steps...

Would a 35/85/135 prime lens combo be flexible enough to use just these 3 lenses the whole day?

Thanks! :)

I took all my weddings on a 35mm and 85mm :) I have a 24-70 in my bag just in case though!

there are tons of togs who only use primes yeah. It's pretty standard, I reckon for every tog using a 24-70 and 70-200 theres another who does it 35 and 85

Thanks guys, very tempted to buy a sigma 35mm 1.4 and a Canon 1.8 now until I can afford the 1.2...

People don't struggle with the reach on the 85 for ceremonies?

Mainly primes, occasionally use 24-105 for large group shots. Probably shoot about 80% with 35mm and the rest with 135mm or the zoom.

135 is a bit long sometimes tho so I'm considering trading it for 85 at some point.

I shoot weddings with the 35 and 85 and pull out the 16-35 for the first dance with strobes as it has a beautiful starburst. Have a 135 and my old workhorse the 24-70 as just in cases. Think I also have a nifty fifty as a just in case, just in case.

Rather than worry about what others are using, why not take a moment to think about how you want to shoot a wedding , how you'd like it to look? Then match the lens to that?