Aperture advice on my 300mm lens please

Name
Rick
Edit My Images
No
hi
I'm just getting into bird photography and spend my time walking around the local marsh. I have a D7000 & Nikon 300mm AF/S F4 lens. My Nikon 1.4 teleconverter arrives this week so I'll have a bit more reach.
I got talking to this chap in one of the hides and said that I'd only just started and its a steep learning curve for me.

He gave me a bit of good advice on different settings and he also said that it would be better for me to just keep the aperture on F5.6 all the time. Is this good advice for birding because choosing which apeture is one thing I'm struggling with.

thanks

Well if you use the converter you will lose a stop so your max aperture will be f5.6.

I'm not sure that this is good advice. The aperture that photographers use is sometimes dictated by the light available which forces you to shoot wide open to obtain a decent shutter speed. At other times the photographer may be trying to isolate a bird from its background and will deliberately shoot wide open even though the light available would allow them to stop down and stil get a fast shutter speed.

Depth of field is quite shallow at f5.6 and there will be times if the light allows that you will want to stop down to get more of the bird in focus.

As an example you may focus on a birds eye that is head on to you at f5.6 @ 1/2000. It is possible that the tip of the bill closest to you will be out of focus. By stopping down and shooting at f8 @ 1/1000 the bill will come into focus.

Shooting all the time at f5.6 limits your scope significantly IMHO.

Giving advice regarding aperture is difficult. You should experiment for yourself and see how using different apertures can change the appearance of your images.

Regards

Well if you use the converter you will lose a stop so your max aperture will be f5.6.