Baby Hannah

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
Yes
This is my first attempt at any type of portrait so it is probably a good starting point to receive some real c&c

I would like to say be gentle... but then I won't learn - so instead I will say be constructive instead :)

hannah1dayweb.jpg

Actions taken so far:

Slight crop; levels and contrast adjusted; resized and border added; then saved for web to stay under 150kb

Portraits of very young babies are pretty much always kinda awful. The one you posted earlier and have in your avatar is truley the exception that proves the rule.

Portraits are all about capturing something of the personallity of subject and frankly, new borns don't exactly drip with it, although they do drip with just about everything else.

As for the techy side, it's ok but could be tad sharper and it looks a tiny bit underexposed on my monitor. On the bright side.... you're going to get in loads of practise and will soon be outputting shots that are exactly as you visualised them. :cool:

... And of course MASIVE congratulaions to you and mum and welcome to Hannah. :)

Hi

Firstly cute Baby :)

Had a quick play. Used Unsharp Mask as slightly out of focus. Used "Auto Colour", then played with "Exposure" & "Gamma" until colours looked more subtle. Lastly (& some what contraversial sometimes) ran through Neat Image (Free S/W) to reduce noise & in this example upped a bit more to show how it can smooth skin slightly. This is very subjective & can be taken less or more (like a dolly effect) as required.

hannah1dayweb_filtered.jpg

Trouble with these noise removers, god send that they can be, is that sometimes they can extract artifacts that aren't really there.

An example is the speckels around the nose.

Braeden, what were the camera settings?

exif:

Focal Length 85mm
Shutter Speed 1/8 sec
F-Stop f/5.6
ISO 400
Pattern Metering

taken in Raw, converted in RSE and levels etc done in CS2

Shutter Speed 1/8 sec