Back to basics?

Name
Danni
Edit My Images
Yes
I understand most of you are reasonably developed in photgraphy and technical jargon! I am just starting out and i would appreciate it if you guys could help me out on what first camera/equipment to buy? Nothing too expensive but nothing too naff either! Any help would be appreciated.

I am looking into digital photography. Thanks

HI :).

What kind of things do you like taking photographs of?. And how technically minded are you?.

Aaaand, welcome to TP, pink lady.

Howdy elektro13 :)

There are many levels you can start with digitial photography:

Firstly - You can go for a fairly cheap "Point and shoot" which are the small cameras that will take good enough pictures, but everything is pretty much sorted by the camera, this lets you get the feel for photography and work out composition of shots etc, but doesnt really help with the technical side of exposing a shot and using various tricks/techniques to make a shot look how you want.

Secondly - There are cameras called "bridge cameras" (amongst other things) these tend to be smaller than Digial SLRs (next step) and let you expand on the skills you can develop with a point and shoot, these cameras tend to let you play with some of the settings, such as shutter speeds and aperture. They are not always more expensive than point and shoots, and can be a very good first step.

Thirdly - There are some DSLR (Digital Single Lens Relfex) cameras aimed at amateurs and beginners. These are cameras such as the Canon 350D. It has a lot of the features of its bigger brothers, but these features are more limited in their ranges. DSLRs also offer the chance to change lenses and add other accessories that let you expand you photography further and work out what kind of photography you like and what you might want to work upto etc...

Hope that helps, and that you didnt get bored half way through :p