Beginner Be gentle please !

Edit My Images
No
Total newbie here to the Forum. I wonder if I could ask for some advice please ? I wish to digitise some old negatives (some are 90-100 years old) plus some slides. I am reasonably proficient with PSE but only as far as things like cloning, cropping, photomerging, etc. etc. But I am struggling with the more difficult procedures. i.e. levels, gradient maps, etc. I have actually scanned a B&W negative on my Epson XP 900 printer/scanner and used PSE to invert it and got a quite decent photo after playing around with it and then printing it on my Epson. But it's a bit of a fiddle.

I realise that to more easily accomplish what I want to do I need a decent purpose-built negative/slide scanner that does have back lighting. And my reason for joining this Forum and asking the question is to gain the opinion of others about what I should be looking for. This whole exercise is just to digitise loads of family images so that, amongst other things, they can be backed up. I don't want to spend a fortune because, as I'm sure you all know, the quality of the negatives from that long ago aren't that good anyway.

Thanks to anyone who can just give me a few pointers, advice, or comments.

Something like an Epson V500 will do 35mm and 120 negatives and slides. You could buy one used, scan your negs then sell it again. You'll lose very little.

They seem to be selling on e-bay for about £150.

There's currently one in the forum classifieds but you won't have access yet, I don't think.

You don't mention budget, or whether everything is 35mm...

An Epson V550 would probably be the most balanced solution if you're just digitising the negs for screen use. If you want decent prints (A4 or larger), you'll struggle.
The V550 comes with a carrier to digitise 2 strips of 35mm (12 images) in one go, or 4 slides, so once your setup is sorted, it can be quite quick. I use it for making contact sheets and it's a very swift process to do 36 exposures.