beginner editing question

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi. I'm new to photography and editing and have a simple (i hope question). Playing around with affinity on mac (10 day trial). I have a simple image - item on black background. Some of the background is not as I want it (slightly off colour and some chalk smudge) how can I edit this out so background is all uniform?
obviously i could take again by just trying to learn basics of editing as the weather is rubbish and better than What is on tv

Thanks for any help

That's a bigger question than you know. Show us the picture?

Thanks. Uploaded as medium quality jpeg but using raw in affinity. Looking to make the right top corner look like left top corner. As I mentioned, its just a quick photo to learn editing on not because i like the image itself.

pic10.jpg

hi james had a little play in Lightroom and the chalk was quite tricky all i did was add some contrast to the whole picture and upped the exposure slightly i used the clone tool to get rid of some of the chalk hth Mike

not my photo by Mike Rockey, on Flickr

I was busy writing whilst Mike was posting so I'm skipping his efforts. It's an even bigger question since it's hard to stop the subjective intruding. I like the top right in your original, it provides a good counterpoint to the central part.