Beginner Beginner Kit on a budget

EJG

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I'm looking at getting into photography as a hobby, I've used a few cameras here and there, and I am currently having a good read of all kinds of guides I can find.

Do any of you have any recommendations of reasonably priced cameras and lenses good for shooting fast paced action Sports such as Jetskiing and Car Racing etc?

I have seen a couple of low priced Cameras the Nikon D3300 and the Canon EOS 1200D. The Canon comes with a Tamron 700 300mm lens. I've heard mixed reviews about that lens though. I don't suppose there are any reasons to steer away from either Camera?

I've got some knowledge of what to look for with photos and editing them in Light room and Photoshop as I used to work in Graphic design and print, which meant I was often editing photos, so hopefully that's something I can use with my photography too.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

I have the D3300 on order as a basic knocking about the park camera, I intend to stick my 35mm 1.8G on it. It should be fast enough for me to catch the grand kids dashing about, and my dog :). I am sure someone will be along shortly, to give you an idea what is the best lens to use :)

Nikon wise, look at the d7000 at least if you're going to try sports, I started with a d3200 but soon traded that for the d7000.
The reason for changing was being able to change settings easier on the body buttons without searching menus.

You can get the d7000 for a good price and a tamron 70-300 vc lens will start you off, camera body and tammy lens should cost around £500, the tammy lens is not the cheap variant you can find for sale but the one around £200 although often cheaper.
I'm no expert though, just a beginner of a year but I really think you'd benefit from starting with the above as I soon needed the controls at my fingertips.

Last edited: