Beginner Macro issues

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello! I am new to the world of photography and since getting my first Camera (Nikon D3100 with a kit lens) I've been trying to learn the ropes.

I have tried to have a little play around the house and in the garden with droplet photos, and miniature figures and I seem to be struggling with focus and grainy shots.
I'm not sure if it's just my set up and I'm being a little bit optimistic with what I have, but regardless I'd like to be pointed in the right direction.

I think the first set I have was that my ISO was perhaps too high and hence ended up grainy, however when reduced it was under exposed. Perhaps the inbuilt camera flash and a table lamp with a few sheets of foil isn't ideal?
Then on my last set I had my ISO set to 200, but I'm not sure if the lens is appropriate for these sort of photos. I couldn't get much in focus despite trying various apertures between 4.6-14 (these are very small figures 1.5-2cm max). However even the areas that are in focus don't really have that "popping' out of the screen so you could almost touch it feeling.

These are my first few attempts at playing around with this stuff, it's been fun creating the scenes but I must admit slightly frustrating not getting the results I want. I'm looking to see if theres something obvious I am missing.

Cheers
James

Screen Shot 2016-12-21 at 14.34.50 by James Cooke, on Flickr
Screen Shot 2016-12-21 at 14.36.30 by James Cooke, on Flickr

Mini-0021 by James Cooke, on Flickr
Mini-0040 by James Cooke, on Flickr

I must admit slightly frustrating not getting the results I want
Always start by defining what you want. If there's a specific image you want to imitate the style of really look at that image and break the style down into the elements that make it work, then you can figure out what you need to do to achieve this.