Status
Not open for further replies.
Name
Chris
Edit My Images
No
Hi,

So I'm just getting into photography.

I work for a party business and will be doing a little photography for them on the side. I've done a few shoots so far, but have only used the kit lens on my camera. The customers seemed happy with the pictures, but i think i will need a more professional lens for weddings.

I have a Nikon D3300. I only really have the budget for the one lens. Which lens would you advise to be best for wedding photography on a low budget? My budget is around £200.

Looking on Amazon, I've found a Nikon 18-200MM F3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S VR DX lens, and this seems to be winning for me so far. What do you think of this one?

Also, would you say an after market flash is needed (if so, any examples would be appreciated)?

Thanks in advance,

Chris.

I'd say that lens isn't fast enough for wedding photography (obviously all depends on the lighting of the ceremony)

I used a 2.8 zoom at the weekend but I wish I'd swapped out to the 1.4 prime I had as I felt forced to up the ISO way higher than I wanted. Not sure how the D3300 deal with high ISO but I'd suggest not risking it unless you have to

You definitely need a flash if you're taking pictures at the reception in my opinion, i just got a £70 one off ebay (can't remember the model, if no one wiser pipes up I'll nip and check it for you :) )

For £200?

A 35mm 1.8.

Then keep saving up for a 2.8 std zoom.

What Phil says, or maybe you could pick up a second hand Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 first but the fast 35 f/1.8 would give you some creative options with shallow depth of field.

Matt's suggestion of a bounce flash is a good one too.

18-200 won't do you much good at all really so I'd not go down that road.

Don't want to sound harsh Chris but if you are "just getting into photography" do you really want to be doing weddings.