Best practice for shooting birds?

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I have seen amazing birds photography on this forum but what focus settings, exposure modes etc... Do people use?
Thanks

Hi,

I have seen amazing birds photography on this forum but what focus settings, exposure modes etc... Do people use?
Thanks

I'm by no means an expert but for birds in flight I use a fast shutter speed around 1/1000 or faster, an aperture to get enough DoF, about f5.6-f8 if possible and a high ISO to suit the exposure for these settings. Continuous focus (af-c on nikon) is also needed and depending on the background 1 or 9 focus points. Spot or centre average metering on the bird is useful, matrix metering can work well but it depends on the conditions which metering mode is best.

Have a look on Flickr, many show the settings used and it can be a great way to learn. Settings do depend on the conditions, bright weather allows faster shutter speed but rain/snow can give atmosphere. When there is snow on the ground its great for photographing birds, the snow act as a giant reflector shining light back upwards and lighting the dark areas under the wings.

This is quite a good tutorial: http://www.johnstuartclarke.co.uk/photographing-birds-in-flight

Hi,

Thanks