Birds of Prey...Tips required

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all. I'm off to Centre Parcs at the end of the month and thought i'd have an hour session handling birds of prey. Has anyone any tips for photographing this type of subject. I've never done any wildlife shots before.

well I'd like some tips on this too, so . . . BUMP :D

If they are in flight shots a nice fast shutter speed and good panning technique..

As with all nature shots, get low, try to be at eye level with them if they are on the ground, dont take pics looking down on them. Keep the shutter speed high if you cant pan very well.

If shooting against the sky, try to meter from the grass, ie point the camera at some grass approximately where they will be note the settings it gives, set the camera to manual and put those settings in, this will mean you will be correctly exposed for the bird, the sky may be bright. Best bet is to have a dark background to shoot against as this makes things easier on the metering front :)

Best thing is dont have people or other objects in the background as they detract from the images.

Hope some of that makes sense and is useful :)

I've done this myself, and its great.You really do get a feel for these creatures awesome power and grace.
I went for the easier option of concentrating on head shots and head profiles.I found it difficult to get an agreeable shot when the animals are being handled by the falconer with all the leather jesses etc showing.
If you are gonna have a go at in flight shots, try and prefocus and let the bird fly into shot.Even the best auto focus systems can struggle with the speed of these animals and because they are normally flown within the confines of the arena, they ain't in the air for long.
Hope you have a great time mate.

From a falconers point of view rather than a 'togs,
Hopefully if there is a breeze the falconer will fly hawks ( short wings / broad wings) into the wind.