Beginner Birds & Wildlife with a canon 55-250mm

Name
Gemma
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

4 years ago I bought the canon 55-250mm lens for my EOS1000D. Due to various reasons I haven't really picked up my camera in this time so am very much a complete beginner.

My interest is birds & wildlife and would love to buy a longer lens but, sadly, I can't afford. I need to learn how to make the most of the lens I have and would love some tips on how I can use this lens to take photos of the subjects I enjoy.

I was messing around with it in the garden the other day taking photos of birds on my feeder. By the time I got close enough, to take what I thought would have been detailed photo, the bird had flown away. :(

I am sure, with the right guidance, I can use this lens to still take good photos of birds etc.

Thank you.

Some birds are more tolerant of humans than others. The obvious one is the robin and one thing that brings robins very close (as in close enough to feed from the hand) are live mealworms. They are the larvae of the mealworm beetle so if they survive long enough to become adult they cause no problems.

If you don't fancy using live food you could try dried mealworms. I find the response to dried mealworms to be variable. I know one garden where they (when soaked in some water) are taken readily, but in another they are ignored completely.

Lots of other birds will also eat live mealworms but few are as tolerant as robins.

If you have a tripod you could set the camera up close to where you feed the birds and trigger the shutter with a remote release. I realise this could result in more expenditure but less than the cost of bigger lens. If you try this make sure you cover the camera because the birds will perch on it and then they will ........

Dave

Robin.jpg