Beginner Birthday party... lens advice

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone.

I'm new to photography but have had a keen interest for many years.

Anyway, I have been asked to take some photos at my fater-in-law's birthday party, it's noting too serious, I'm not being paid and they don't care if they don't come out that great. They would just like a handful at the start to capture everyone there. However I would like to take lots of shots throughout the night to capture the evening, but my problem is I have a Nikon D3100 and just two lenses - my kit lens and a 50mm 1.8G. Ideally I don't want to use the flash as it's just the standard flash on the camera so I would want that turned off so not to have it constantly going off.

Would I be right in thinking that the 50mm would be the best lens to use for the party due to it's apature? I can't think of a reason to take my kit lens, so should I just take the 50mm?

Also, as I want to not use the flash what settings would you recommend in terms of ISO etc?

Thanks for you time.

Hi

Welcome to TP.

It really all depends on the amount of ambient light you have available on the day. You could use the 50mm and bump up your ISO. Not sure how high you can go on the d3100 but on my d90 anything over 800 was noisy.

Also when doing group shout it is very difficult to get everyone sharp when using smaller f stops, so may be borrow on flash to use.

Thanks

I've owned the same set up.... you will need flash. Bounce the light off ceilings/walls if you cant get it off camera.

In doors, the fixed 50 is likely to be restrictive on framing, framing rather tight, and in a party dynamic, hoping for candids rather than portraits, versatility to zoom is likely far more useful.
Use the kit. Avoid too much zoom. Don't shoot in the dark!

This idea you 'need' 'fast-glass' for indoor/low-light, I do really find a little irksome..
Shutter-Speed controls motion blur
Aperture controls Depth of Field