Blank film - hoping there's a dumb reason I'm missing!

Name
Daniel
Edit My Images
No
So I bought an Olympus OM-1N camera recently. It's my first time trying to use film. Everything on it appears to be functioning correctly but my first roll of film came out completely blank.

I can see through the back that the shutter is working fine, and I checked the film was actually winding on, and that's the only suggestion I can find online! I haven't tried another roll yet because I've been a bit put off.

I'm hoping there's a dumb, simple explanation for it. Or that Max Spielmann ruined my film and lied to me haha.

Are there any other reasons a film would come out totally blank?

Normally when this happens the reason is that not enough leader has been fed into the take-up spool and the entire film has been left in the canister. Most of us have done this once. How can you check the film was winding on when it was out of the camera and back from Max? With practice you can tell how long it takes to rewind a full film and feel the change in tension before it fully goes back into the canister. The next debate is should we rewind fully back to the canister and break it before processing, or leave a bit of leader protruding so you can full the film back out without breaking the cansiter at the risk for scratching the film.

Did the negatives have the edge markings (saying the manufacturer, film type etc) showing?

Well if the leader was black (firms usually add the first few frames in the sleeves) and the edge markings visible then it would seem the film was dev ok......so it would seem either the film never wound on or a serious mechanical fault, if a minor mechanical fault you should see something on the negs .