Blending different exposures in CS3

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
Yes
Can someone please explain how I can blend different exposed landscape shots into one.

I have taken 5 identical landscape shots, mounted on a tripod, at different exposures as I was facing the sun. I know you can merge them into HDR, but I want to achieve the process through Layers.
I have been trying the layer process but I think Im doing something wrong as I cant get the correct outcome :shrug:

What I do is open the all images and then select the lowest exposed shot then stack the next on top by selecting the select tool while holding the shift key to place on top of the first image then when you have aligned them use the eraser to bring out the details in the low exposure (probably clouds). I know this method is qite long but it seems to work for me. You just add the next shot like before and erase the detail you want so that the exposure you want is visble. (I am not very good at writing tutorials).

Then merge or flatten images for the shot you want.

Sorry if you do not understand it. I think I lost myself in there somewhere. :wacky:

What I do is open the all images and then select the lowest exposed shot then stack the next on top by selecting the select tool while holding the shift key to place on top of the first image then when you have aligned them use the eraser to bring out the details in the low exposure (probably clouds). I know this method is qite long but it seems to work for me. You just add the next shot like before and erase the detail you want so that the exposure you want is visble. (I am not very good at writing tutorials).

Then merge or flatten images for the shot you want.

Sorry if you do not understand it. I think I lost myself in there somewhere. :wacky: