Bulb for studio light

Name
katie sykes
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all

Newbie here! someone gave me an EXCELLA PRISMA studio light. I need a bulb. I've tried to fin out which bulb is suitable but cant find any info. Basically, can I use any screw bulb? or is there special bulbs?!

If so, how many watts please?

Thanks so much
Katie

It’s not a very common flash (I doubt anyone here has one), what’s the instruction manual say?

We could guess, but it’d likely be dependent on the power of the flash, bigger well cooled flashes have more powerful modelling lamps.

This is an Excella Prisma 250W modelling bulb (unavailable)

..and here's a pack of two bulbs of the same spec

But! There are also listings for Excella 500 Joule flash heads that only have 60 Watt modelling bulbs.

Tbh - I'd stick one of these LED corn bulbs in as they're only 12 Watts (so no danger of overheating the fitting), but with the light output of a 120 Watt incandescent. Plus the colour temp will be better match for the flash tube too.

Is there any info on the bulb itself?, they something have writing around the brass base. Failing that I'd play safe and go with Scooters advise above.

Tbh - I'd stick one of these LED corn bulbs in as they're only 12 Watts (so no danger of overheating the fitting), but with the light output of a 120 Watt incandescent. Plus the colour temp will be better match for the flash tube too.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/12W-Incand...0+watt+e27+modelling+lamp,aps,61&sr=8-55&th=1

only slight issue with that is that they're non-dimmable - depends on the flash head I guess, but most i've used tend to (at least optionally) dim the modeling lamps in proportion to the flash intensity setting...

This is what makes TP my favourite website the members and moderators are all so helpful ! :)(y)

Two cautions. What bulb is compatible might depend on the dimming circuitry in the head. This might rule out leds even those badged as 'dimmable'.