Cable Release

Edit My Images
Yes
Sorry if this is the wrong place for this post.

I have a Fuji S9600 and being a complete novice in the world of photography I am looking for some advice on which type of cable release to use.

I believe that there are 4 types, (1) a wireless infrared remote control, (2) a cable USB remote control, (3) an ordinary push button cable type, (4) and one that uses air to press the shutter button (is this right?)

My question is which is the best type for my camera?

If one of the cable types are best, can anyone tell me which one I need because the manual does not mention anything about them, and I need to know what size the threaded connection is on top of the shutter button.

I like the idea of the wireless infrared remote control, but I suspect that the problem with this would be that the remote would have to be in frount of the camera before I press the button.

Finally where is the best place on the net to get the above.

I am sorry if this is one of those questions that have been asked 1000's of times, but I really am a complete novice.:crying:

Any advice will be greatfully received

All the best

Mickey

Hi Mickey

I would advise against a infrared one, as you have pointed out your have to be pointing at the front of the camera and thats sometimes not possible. I think the one that I have would be classed as a push button cable type, I seem to have misplaced it so can't check what model it is to verify that :(

Rob

p.s. if I have misplaced it and anyone is going to Ingleton waterfalls in Yorkshire - keep your eye's open :)

I dunno anything about your camera Mickey, but I'd think any modern camera has an electronic type cable release which usually plugs into a socket in the camera body somewhere. The bad news is they're normally not cheap.