Camera advise

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Been browsing the forum unregistered for a while and thought it about time I registered.

I’m very new to photography, only taking photos of landscapes, etc on my iPhone 12. I thought it about time I stepped it up and brought myself a proper camera.

Having read up it appears mirrorless seems to be the way to go, I’ve been looking at the Sony A6000 which seems to get decent reviews and also appears reasonably priced, as I don’t really want to spend more than £500.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yes, you'll get an A6000 and lens for that easily.

It might also be worth looking into the cost of any lenses you might like. Plus if you know anyone who already does photography, what system they use to share or borrow stuff.

That's the whole reason I picked the A6000 for my boy. Body and astro lens for about £450 plus he now has a few of my old lenses.

Thanks for the reply.

I do like the look of the A6000, also the size seems fairly nice as I don’t want something bulky.

How does it compare to the X-T200? They seem very similar price wise.

On paper the X-T200 has more features like touch screen and better video, but its the same size sensor so your going to get the same kind of image from both. It really depends on ergonomics and what ecosystem you like, the Sony does have more lens options though... But I like the dials on Fuiji .. So many things to consider.

On paper the X-T200 has more features like touch screen and better video, but its the same size sensor so your going to get the same kind of image from both. It really depends on ergonomics and what ecosystem you like, the Sony does have more lens options though... But I like the dials on Fuiji .. So many things to consider.

it’s really tricky, I prefer the design of the Sony however it is quite a bit older. Having not used either I’m having to go on recommendation/reviews.

Have you any other suggestions I can ponder over? :)