Beginner Camera for recording

Name
Agena
Edit My Images
No
I'm looking to buy a camera under £400 for video and recording.

So i need a camera that has good AF and doesn't struggle to focus on a moving object.

Which camera do you recommend for recording purposes Under £400.

Thanks

How far away is the subject, how big is it, and how fast is it moving?

Most modern DSLRs will certainly be capable, but a camera with a suitable lens may stretch the budget and is likely to be secondhand rather than new.

You might be best looking at a gopro style they really are good now but I prefer the Dji Osmo Action, usually under £250

How far away is the subject, how big is it, and how fast is it moving?

Most modern DSLRs will certainly be capable, but a camera with a suitable lens may stretch the budget and is likely to be secondhand rather than new.
One thing i want to do that would be a different from standard recording
Is recording cars, fast moving objects.

1) I'm a bit of a newbie. So there's autofocus and manual focus. Is manual focus the same on all cameras?

2) Which camera would be good for focusing on a fast paced object. Under £400m
Does it depend on the lens? Or camera.

3) I'm thinking of getting "Nikon D3500 DSLR Camera with AF-P DX 18-55mm VR Lens"
(It's on argos)
But what I see if the lens in the image doesn't have a manual switch? Do I need one, or is it good to have it for the purpose of recording mainly. (Fast objects, and normal recording)

Last edited:
Cars aren't a particular problem. If the cars are close to you then a short focal length zoom such as 18-55 will be fine. If they are some distance away, eg your shooting from spectator areas at Silverstone, then you'll most likely need a 300mm or 400mm lens to get the car as the primary object in the viewfinder.