Beginner cannon lens 18-55ml

Name
kamran
Edit My Images
Yes
I have a cannon 1100d with a 18-55 ml lens. I'm new to photography and maybe I'm being naïve thinking there is only so much I can do with my simple lens. I tried to take picture of water being poured from glass into another and make the back ground blurry. I didn't quite pull it off. I had a low F stop number and shutter speed of 1/30 IS0 100. The conditions were in my living room under bulb lighting in the evening. I manage to get a good exposure but the effect of a blurry back ground. I feel its because of my lens. Dunno if anyone can advice any better.

Hello Kam and welcome to TP. It is difficult to advise without seeing the photograph. If you post it here I'm sure someone will offer some suggestions.

Dave

it was taken in the living room so the back will have been only a few feet away.

Is this the sort of effect you're looking for??

blue%20wood%20balls%20focus%20depth%20of%20field%20deck%20reflections%20marble%201920x1080%20wallpaper_www.wall321.com_84.jpg

But with your subject matter?

I have a cannon 1100d with a 18-55 ml lens. I'm new to photography and maybe I'm being naïve thinking there is only so much I can do with my simple lens. I tried to take picture of water being poured from glass into another and make the back ground blurry. I didn't quite pull it off. I had a low F stop number and shutter speed of 1/30 IS0 100. The conditions were in my living room under bulb lighting in the evening. I manage to get a good exposure but the effect of a blurry back ground. I feel its because of my lens. Dunno if anyone can advice any better.

There are plenty of things you can capture with a 'simple' lens.

https://www.flickr.com/search/?q=canon 18-55mm

it was taken in the living room so the back will have been only a few feet away.