Canon 10D to 30D or 40D...

Edit My Images
No
Hi folks,

Have just joined this forum and was immediately struck by how helpful you guys are so thought you might be kind enough to help me out with some kit advice...

I've been using a 10D for quite a few years now and although its never done me wrong Im very aware that I need to upgrade and initially was just going to move up to the 20D but after looking around figured for the extra price I may as well go for a 30D.

Now comes the quandry - do I go all the way, bite the bullet, and pay for a 40D - is it that much better considering Im quite happy with my 10D at the moment? Or am i just getting carried away with gear lust?

Any thoughts will be much appreciated...

I've had a 30d for a year and its been so good for me. If you can get one in good condition at a good price then you won't be dissapointed. Having said that, the 40d is a nice upgrade from the 30d so if its not going to hurt your wallet too much more then go for it. I always get the best i can afford, and it will last you a long time.

The 40d body only is available here (http://www.martinscamerashop.co.uk/canon-eos-40d-camera-body-lens-not-included-201-p.asp) for under £500 after canon cashback. If you already have lenses, then thats a good deal!

i currently have a 10D aswell and if I wasn't planning on a move to the world of full frame goodness then I would definately be upgrading to a 40D. It'll be a massive step up and well worth it.

However I have spent a fair amount of time using a 30D and even that would be a great upgrade over the 10D.

Stop and think for a minute:

Why do you want a 40D. You say you're happy with the 10D (And its a fine camera), what do you think a 40D would bring to the table that a 10D doesn't. OK I can list a whole number of differences between the 10D and the 40D, but are they important to you. Sometimes there is one aspect of a camera that makes it the one for you.