canon 1100D vs Nikon D3100

Edit My Images
Yes
How good is Canon 1100D compare to Nikon D3100. I am a newbie and wanted to buy a camera but really confused with which one to buy?

They will be very similar. The only difference is that the nikon is missing the focus motor in the body and you will therefore have to buy lenses with the motor built in or manual focus the others. It doesn't affect many lenses.

You are best off going and playing with the cameras in a shop and then deciding which one you like the most. It's all about ergonomics at this price point!

Go and have a hold of them both, see if one appeals more than the other - no good buying something strangers recommend if you can't stand how it feels in your hands. If you don't like it, you won't use it and that's the worst camera to buy.

I've got the D3100 and the focus motor isn't really a factor (unless you want cheaper old lenses) and neither is the bracketing.

Its a great camera and its really easy to change the settings and just go shooting. Use the Fn button on the front for ISO and then use shutter priority or apeture priority and you are good to go.

It does everything I need.

Its down to personal preference, both a re good cameras, but I personally would go for (and did) the D3100 with this deal...

http://www.camerabox.co.uk/product....mm-VR-and-55-300-VR-Twin-Kit-&ProductID=19283

Both lenses have vibration reduction which is a big bonus (jessops model has a cheaper, poorer Tamron lens in the kit).

I looked at Sony, Canon and Nikon. I've used both Canons and Nikons on other peoples camers and personally found my way around the Nikon easier.

The jog wheel is IMO in a better place, the quick selector between single, continuos, timed and quiet is great. The LCD has loads of info for helping start and make sure you have the correct light in the picture

Both cameras are capable of great pictures, its personal preference that only you can decide on.