Canon 300d

Name
Elliott
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey all, im new to photography. A keen photographer friend of mine is selling his camera as he has just bought a new one.

He is selling a Canon 300D, i was just wondering if this camera would be good for me to get started with?

:)

Hi
It depends on your budget and the price your friend wants, but the 300D is about £300 new with standard lens and is only 6 megapixel.
The 400D sells new for about £400 with the standard lens and is 10 megapixel.
Whichever camera you go for remember its all about the quality of the lens that you put on it.

Good luck.

Well he is selling his 300D for £150 with a sigma lens. He has give it me for the weekend so i can go out and use it, hope the weather gets better.

Im just wondering, being a beginner, is this the right camera to use or should i go for a compact camera like the Canon g9.

I prefer the idea of going for the 300D but at the end of the day i want something thats going to give me the best shots a beginner could get (hope that makes sense)

For that price you can't really go wrong(y) If you were to go for a compact or a bridge and the bug bites you'll only be wanting to upgrade to a DSLR sooner or later so you may as well start off with one as you can get it for a good price;)

Thanks for that, im just wondering if im jumping in at the deep end. Im a newbie to photography and is a DSLR not too advanced for me

The best thing about your situation is that you have the opportunity to buy a good started DSLR for not a great deal of cash - so it wouldn't be the end of the world if the hobby didn't take off like you anticipate it might.

Don't be scared about jumping in at the deep end - there are shedloads of really good books about the 'science' side of photography, and you will certainly be able to get a great understanding of it with the camera you are proposing to get. Plus you are a member here!