Canon 55-250mm second hand price

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Is £160 delivered a good price for the above lens. It includes a hood and a cheapo filter.

The lens is as new and has hardly been used.

I know it's not the greatest lens but I'm still learning and I need more zoom at times then what my standard 18-55 gives.

I'm pretty sure you can get it brand new for £180 so for the extra £20 I think i'd personally go down that route.

£179.99 + delivery from camerbox and that includes a 2 year warranty.
The hoods are around £19.99.
I'd buy it new at that price.
I did :)

It's not bad. I got one bundled with my 40D, so can't really compare price-wise. I'll say one thing though: At its best, this lens is very sharp. In decent light, it's great for getting small animals/large insects/flowers etc etc. It's not always as bad as some people make out. good luck.

Cheers guys. My main photography will be cars, both moving and stills. I will eventually buy some L glass but I'm not prepared to spend a whole load of dosh on something that at the moment will not give me any better results then the one above.

My standard 18-55 is good, however at some tracks I'm too far away to get good shots hence needing the zoom.

I won't be ordering till the end of the month anyway so I'm in no great rush. If someone knows of a another lens that offers better performance for the money then I'm all ears. :D

I'm not sure you'll find anything better for that price. The only other that springs to mind within that price range is the Sigma 70-300 but I don't think it's quite as sharp and you don't get IS.

It's even cheaper on OneStop Digital at £167.99

The only problem is that Canon UK probably wont deal with it under warranty.
For the sake of 13 quid, it'd be far less hassle sending it back to camerabox than it would be to HK if it goes wrong under warranty.