Canon advice

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

Been lurking on the site for a while now and thought I would jump in with my first post.
I am in need of some advice. I would like to get a new camera and in particularly the Canon EOS 40D. It will be my first D-SLR.
Some people suggest that as it is my first D-SLR I should opt for the EOS 400D but I have owned EOS film SLRs and have used computers to work with images for a while now so it is not as if I am completely new to photography. Should I go for the 40D or the 400D.
Will lenses used with previous Canon SLRs work with the 40D? From the reading I have done it appears they will but will have a conversion factor of something like 1.6.

Where is the best place to get it from? I have heard mention of someone called Kerso who does decent prices.

Thanks,
Quarto

Actually I'm a bit of an advocate of buying the body you're not going to outgrow, so I'd say go ahead and get the 40D. The fact that it will be my next body purchase isn't colouring my opinion in the least. :D

Your lenses should still be fine. The 'conversion factor' is exactly 1.6X, but it's a bit of a confusing thing, brought about by the makers of early DSLRs feeling the need to tell us how the FOV compared to 35mm film.

The focal length of your lenses actually remains the same regardless of the sensor size. :)

And where's me manners? Welcome to the Mad House!:wave:

welcome :wave: to the :bang: house :nono:

I think that I have to agree with CT ('tho thats not unusual in itself). Go for the 40D.
I started low end with a 300D and after a year (ish) migrated to the 20D. What a difference. I used that faithfully for couple of years, infact I still have it. Skipped the 30D and now have a 40D. It is a splendid bit of kit. (Not a patch on the 1dmkIIIs, but then its about a 9th of the cost). I dont have any problems recomending it. Especially if you have anything other than small hands as the 400D is diminutive in comparison.